Spelling Bee

Little prodigy,
I ask you to spell ‘Periplus’,
You ask for the definition,
To which I reply
“Circumnavigation around an island”.
Of course, non-spellers will think
We, the competitors, memorize words by heart,
But no,
Sometimes we too have to assume,
We too, take a risk,
The definition just serves as a hint
To recollect our memories,
Hoping for the right answer.
Little prodigy,
In return, you asked me,
Why I lost my regionals competition in my youth,
I simply said my losing word was ‘Haphazard’.
It was then I realized,
You will never forget your losing word,
We tend to forget a million moments of success
And yet dwell on the measly losses.

Leave a Reply

